Giving Candy To My Neighbor

You would think that a Christmas party with a large group of mentally ill people (most of them either bipolar or schizophrenic) would be a lot of fun, but the PACT party was rather lame. For most of the time at the Zag Ga Zig Shriner’s lodge, those of us gathered there sat silently in chairs around tables. Besides sitting, we had a rather nice meal of turkey or ham, cheesy potatoes, green bean casserole, rolls, and cookies, with soda or water; the food was one highlight, and the gift bags of candy and $5 QuikTrip gift cards was the other.

Juanita, my new case manager, drove me there and back. After a brief argument about extraterrestrials and the existence of God, Juanita dropped me off in front of my apartment. As I was getting out of the car, a dog and his master, who live in my building, were starting out on a walk.

“Hello, Breezo!” I shouted to the dog. I then looked to the master and said, “Allie, right?” She said yes, what was my name again? We’ve only met twice before.

“I’m Dustin,” said I, “do you want some candy? I have candy canes.” She gladly took a couple candy canes from my little gift bag and thanked me. No problem. I told Allie to have a nice day.

After I got back inside my apartment, I thought that I should have asked if I could join them on their walk. Perhaps I could have made a friend. If only, if only! Maybe I’ll run into them again.

Leave a comment